A Mission for Variety

Yucca root gnocchi, chocolate smoked sea salt ice cream, veal and pork bratwurst with a tinge of ginger, and a grilled cheese sandwich with caramelized onions and apple compote. San Francisco’s Mission District is a collusion of art, culture and food.  Within a mere four-block radius you can experience a wide range of cuisine including a Jewish bakery, Venezuelan/Italian/Columbian fusion, tiny, but creative cupcakes, Mexican fare, eccentric ice cream, a sausage and pie restaurant and an eatery that features only locally grown products.  At the intersection of many different cultures, the Mission District is a perfect locale for the eater who isn’t afraid of variety or imagination.

After the heavy anticipation of my food, the sandwiches were finally being brought to me on a silver platter.  As I watched their progress, the world around me seemed to focus on the tiny morsels.  When I gently picked up the sandwich, the butter enriched crispy bread saturated my fingertips.  I looked at my sandwich, with the white cheese dripping from its sides, in awe and in anticipation of my first bite.  The grilled cheese sandwich was home to a diversity of flavors that soothed and excited my palate.  The warm, Wheelhouse cheese began to melt on my tongue when I was assaulted by the sweet and salty flavor of caramelized onions.  It was all topped off by the interestingly fruity addition of apple compote and the sound of crunching bread.

San Francisco’s Local Mission Eatery, address of the aforementioned modern grilled cheese sandwich, belongs to a group of restaurants located in the Mission that appeal to a wide variety of foodies.  From cupcakes and ice cream, to Venezuelan food and bratwurst, the Mission has it all.  It is truly a food lover’s and cultural connoisseurs delight!

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

2 thoughts on “A Mission for Variety

  1. Really good job at relaying the concept of diversity in the Mission district. You were able to say a lot by actually saying a little – a hard task to accomplish. Your slideshow was especially exciting to see. You really captured the Mission from an artistic, yet humble view. Also, your description of the grilled cheese made my mouth water. You succeeded in explaining the balance of flavors just as well as how someone would taste it for themselves. Kudos!

    • Sofie,

      I 100% agree with Erica. I definitely struggled with making a short and sweet, yet descriptive write-up about our trip to the Mission. The way you described the sandwich using worde like “assaulted” was awesome. Definitely descriptions that will help me further build and strengthen my food writing skills! Nice job!

      –Olivia

Leave a comment